Posted by: Shawn Ragan | July 6, 2009

The Way I Want to Die

Tori and I spent last night looking at this picture and watching this video.  At times in disbelief, at times crossing ourselves, at times convicted, and at times in awe.

The Elder Joseph of Vatopaidi Monastery on Mount Athos who reposed July 1, 2009.

Elder Joseph

Elder Joseph

I hope and pray, Lord have mercy, that when I die I am smiling.  It is truly an awe-inspiring thing, and something that makes one tremble, to see this blessed Elder smiling like this at the funeral.

Here is a video of the funeral.  Another thing that Tori and I were amazed with…look at Elder Joseph as they move him from one Church to the other Church…


Responses

  1. Dear Shawn,

    I have followed with great interest and joy your conversion story. Glory to God for all that has happened with you and yours.

    I don’t know if you saw the full story of Father Joseph’s smile–but if you didn’t, you should. Turns out, he smiled 45 minutes *after* his repose–his face changed. It is worth seeing. I can’t find my original link, but it can probably be found on Google.

    Kind regards,
    Patty


Leave a comment

Categories