Posted by: Shawn Ragan | January 11, 2009

Catechumens!

After two and a half years, we have taken the step foward and been received in the Ancient Christian Faith as catechumens.  Glory be to God!

Waiting in the Narthex to be received between Matins and the Divine Liturgy.

Waiting in the Narthex to be received between Matins and the Divine Liturgy.

Fr. Mark saying the prayers as we are received into the Church as catechumens.

Fr. Mark saying the prayers as we are received into the Church as catechumens.

During the Divine Liturgy, during the prayer for the catechumens.

During the Divine Liturgy, during the prayer for the catechumens.

Responses

  1. Congratulations and God’s blessings to you and your family!

    I hope to make the same announcement one day.

    Pray for me.

    Glory to Jesus Christ!

  2. Congratulations to you and your family! Glory to God for all things!

  3. I stayed up until 1am last night reading through this blog (which is quite something since I have to get up at 6am for work) and I read almost every post, maybe missed a couple. It somehow struck me how deeply spiritual such a journey like yours must be. As a life-long Orthodox I have been taught and lived in the Orthodox faith since my tender years, but reading your posts made me realize that I take many things for granted and in a way undermine subconsciously their significance, when in reality these same things are the real treasures of Christianity. I honestly wondered how it would be to make a life-changing discovery like yours, what kind of thoughts and emotions a situation like that stirs and how tremendously it must alter someone’s foundations of being. It struck me that these pearls of divine grace are still not available to people who really need them and are earnestly looking for them. I honestly hope and pray that your journey is one that, even through the struggles and the difficulties that will arise, will lead you and your loved ones back home…

  4. Congratulations to all of you! May the journey be sweet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

